City of Waltham Inauguration and City Council Meeting Minutes January 2, 2022

Assistant City Clerk Joseph Vizard Called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

City Councillors-Elect and School Committee Members Elect entered the Chamber with the Police and Fire Honor Guard, the Superintendent of Schools, School Committee Member Tarallo, and Mayor McCarthy.

Rabi David Finkelstein from Temple Beth Israel in Waltham offered an invocation.

Councillor-elect Kathleen B. McMenimen lead the Pledge of Allegiance. Lilly Massa sang the National Anthem.

Kara Wilson read the names of the people elected on November 2, 2021:

Councillors At Large

Randy J. LeBlanc Colleen Bradley-McArthur Kathleen B. McMenimen Patrick J.. O'Brien Thomas M. Stanley Carlos A. Vidal

Ward Councillors

Anthony LaFauci Councillor Ward One Caren Dunn Councillor Ward Two George A. Darcy, III Councillor Ward Three John J. McLaughlin Councillor Ward Four Joseph P. LaCava Councillor Ward Five Sean T. Durkee Councillor Ward Six Paul Katz Councillor Ward Seven Councillor Ward Eight Cathyann Harris Jonathan Paz Councillor Ward Nine

School Committee

Elizabeth A. Aljammal Debra Coleman John A. Frassica, II

The Honorable Cathleen Campbell, Justice of the Massachusetts Superior Court administered the oath of office to the City Councillors-elect and School Committee members elect.

School Committee Member John Frascia offered remarks on behalf of the School Committee. Councillor Kathleen B. McMenimen offered remarks on behalf of the City Council.

Father James M DiPerri of Our Lady Comforter of the Afflicted Parish in Waltham offered a benediction.

At 1:30 p.m Assistant Clerk Vizard declared the meeting to be in recess until 1:45 p.m.

Assistant Clerk Vizard called the meeting back to order at 1:45 p.m.

Kara Wilson Called the roll.

Present: Councillors Bradley-MacArthur, Darcy, Dunn, Durkee, Harris, Katz, LaCava, LaFauci, LeBlanc, McLaughlin, McMenimen. O'Brien, Paz, Stanley, and Vidal.

Absent: None.

Assistant Clerk Vizard opened nominations for Council President. Councillors Darcy and LeBlanc nominated Councillor McMenimen. Councillor McLaughlin moved to close nominations. The motion was approved on a voice vote.

Councillors: Bradley-MacArthur, Darcy, Dunn, Durkee, Harris, Katz, LaCava, LaFauci, LeBlanc, McLaughlin, McMenimen. O'Brien, Paz, Stanley, and Vidal all voted for Councillor McMenimen for City Council President for 2022. Councillor McMenimen was elected President and assumed the Chair. Councillor McMenimen offered remarks from the Chair.

Councillor Vidal moved to adjourn. The motion was approved on a voice vote and the meeting was adjourned at 2:03 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Joseph W. Vizard, City Clerk